Media Releases

Whitaker for the Win

Whitaker for the Win

The sun was shining on the International ring for the Thursday of the 2012 Spruce Meadows "Masters" Tournament.

Forty-one horse/rider combinations walked through the clock tower to compete for the 1.50 meter ATCO Structures & Logistics Cup. With five combinations moving into the jump off, Christian Ahlmann (GER) took home first place with a jump off time of 36.79: a full four seconds faster than second place. The course, designed by Leopoldo Palacios (VEN), stretched over 470 meters with 15 jumping obstacles. Ahlmann was very happy with his 11 year old Warmblood gelding Aragon, commenting that  “He loves it here. The ground was perfect for him, and he jumped great”. Ahlmann hopes Aragon will continue to jump well through the week in preparation for the $1,000,000 CN International on Sunday.

George Lidgett, Executive Vice President Operations & Manufacturing, ATCO Structures and Logistics presenting the winners’ trophy to Christian Ahlmann. Photo Credits: Spruce Meadows Media Services.


ATCO Structures & Logistics - Top 10
1- Christian Ahlmann GER Aragon
2- Abdullah AL Sharbatly KSA Larkhill Cruiser
3- Olivier Philippaerts BEL Quintender 2
4- Jur Vrieling NED VDL Emmerton
5- Daniel Deuber GER Lillyfee
6- Beezie Madden USA Simon
7- Eric Lamaze CAN Derly Chin de Muze
8- Robert Whitaker GBR Catwalk IV
9- Shane Breen IRL Cos I Can
10- Ben Asselin CAN Rush


The 1.60 meter CANA Cup got off to a fast start, seeing British show jumping veteran Michael Whitaker (GBR) taking home the first place ribbon. Nine of the 42 horse/rider combinations moved into the jump off after tackling the Leopoldo Palacios (VEN) course with 15 jumping obstacles over 490 meters. This is Whitaker’s second year with his 10 year old Dutch Warmblood gelding, Viking. After building momentum in 2011, Whitaker and Viking are looking forward to competing once again at Spruce Meadows. “It’s the atmosphere here. The courses are hard, and everyone expects them to be hard. That way, if you win, you know you’re the best”.

John Simpson, President and CEO, Cana Group of Companies presenting the winners’  trophy to Michael Whitaker. Photo Credits: Spruce Meadows Media Services.

CANA Cup - Top 10
1- Michael Whitaker GBR Viking
2- Christian Ahlmann GER Taloubet Z
3- Jerome Hurel FRA OHM De Ponthual
4- Shane Breen IRL Balloon
5- Ian Millar CAN Star Power
6- Andrew Bourns IRL Roundthorn Madios
7- Tina Fletcher GBR Hello Sailor
8- Olivier Philippaerts BEL Cabrio Van De Heffinck
9- Beezie Madden USA Coral Reef Via Volo
10- Jur Vrieling NED VDL Bubalu


The action continues tomorrow in the International ring at Spruce Meadows. The Mercedes-Benz "Evening of the horse" begins at 5:15pm with the Encana Cup. It is then followed by the ATCO Electric six-bar circuit with a performance by the Celle Stallions and a fireworks show.

If you have any questions regarding this press release please contact Spruce Meadows media at (403)974-4232 or email.